Mark A Ivener, A Law Corporation

DHS To Begin Requiring 10 Fingerprints at Ports of Entry

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) is now requiring 10 fingerprints, instead of just two, from international visitors who fly into Washington Dulles International Airport. The US-VISIT requirement will be expanded to nine additional airports next spring:

  • Boston Logan International Airport
  • Chicago O’Hare International Airport
  • Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport
  • HartsfieldJackson Atlanta International Airport
  • George Bush Houston Intercontinental Airport
  • Miami International Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (NYC)
  • Orlando International Airport
  • San Francisco International Airport

By the end of 2008, the DHS plans to deploy the expanded fingerprint system to 107 other airports and to begin collecting 10 fingerprints at other ports of entry. The Department of State currently uses 10fingerprint scanners at most of its visaissuing posts and will complete deployment worldwide by the end of 2007.

Share this Article

About the Author

Mark A. Ivener, A Law Corporation, a nationally recognized law firm, has successfully assisted hundreds of clients in immigration matters.